Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 2, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Feb. 2, 2013

‘Follow this gentleman’s example’

Shirley Nix of Kokomo sends this Cheer for the kindnesses of strangers:

“On Monday, Jan. 31, I had a most extraordinary experience.

“I was in the checkout lane of a local grocery store, when the gentleman behind me asked the cashier if he could put his one item on my bill. Before she or I could answer, he added that he also wished to pay for my groceries, which he did.

“He stated he wanted to do something nice for someone. My bill was $95.79, so this was no small gesture.

“What a wonderful surprise from a stranger. I thanked the gentleman and told him I would pass this kind act on.

“This incident put a smile not only on my face, but the cashier’s face, the sacker’s face and the many faces of family members and friends whom I shared this story with.

“Wouldn’t Howard County be a much better place if more of us would do acts of kindness to strangers we meet? I plan to follow this gentleman’s example, and I encourage everyone reading this to do the same. Put a smile on someone’s face (and your heart will be smiling too).”

 

Thanks for story on Professor Miller

Myrtle Treber of Greentown sends this Cheer for a Kokomo Tribune reporter:

“I want to thank Lindsey Ziliak, your Kokomo Tribune writer, for the great front-page story on Jan. 21. She did a great job telling us about retired IU Kokomo professor Herbert Miller.

“What an interesting article for the Martin Luther King Day edition.

“My husband, the late Harry Treber, was an adjunct faculty member at IU Kokomo in the ’70s. He greatly admired Dr. Miller, and I still remember his kind words about him.”

 

Apology and compensation

Lorinda Jackson of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a local business:

“My Cheer goes out to the Wash & Go Car Wash on Goyer Road.

“On Jan. 11, I washed my car and, as always, pulled the car over and got out to towel dry it. Evidently, that day the blowers had been maintenanced and a huge amount of the grease had fallen on the top of my car. I managed to get the grease off, which, being post-surgery, I wasn’t supposed to be climbing but I needed to get it off.

“So I get the phone number off the machine, called and left a message, thinking I’d never hear from them.

“Bright and early Saturday morning, I get a call with the explanation of probably why it happened and a very nice apology, along with a nice and very thoughtful compensation for the incident.

“So, thank you very much to the owners of the car wash, and I will continue to use your car wash.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll