Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 2, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Feb. 2, 2013

‘Follow this gentleman’s example’

Shirley Nix of Kokomo sends this Cheer for the kindnesses of strangers:

“On Monday, Jan. 31, I had a most extraordinary experience.

“I was in the checkout lane of a local grocery store, when the gentleman behind me asked the cashier if he could put his one item on my bill. Before she or I could answer, he added that he also wished to pay for my groceries, which he did.

“He stated he wanted to do something nice for someone. My bill was $95.79, so this was no small gesture.

“What a wonderful surprise from a stranger. I thanked the gentleman and told him I would pass this kind act on.

“This incident put a smile not only on my face, but the cashier’s face, the sacker’s face and the many faces of family members and friends whom I shared this story with.

“Wouldn’t Howard County be a much better place if more of us would do acts of kindness to strangers we meet? I plan to follow this gentleman’s example, and I encourage everyone reading this to do the same. Put a smile on someone’s face (and your heart will be smiling too).”

 

Thanks for story on Professor Miller

Myrtle Treber of Greentown sends this Cheer for a Kokomo Tribune reporter:

“I want to thank Lindsey Ziliak, your Kokomo Tribune writer, for the great front-page story on Jan. 21. She did a great job telling us about retired IU Kokomo professor Herbert Miller.

“What an interesting article for the Martin Luther King Day edition.

“My husband, the late Harry Treber, was an adjunct faculty member at IU Kokomo in the ’70s. He greatly admired Dr. Miller, and I still remember his kind words about him.”

 

Apology and compensation

Lorinda Jackson of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a local business:

“My Cheer goes out to the Wash & Go Car Wash on Goyer Road.

“On Jan. 11, I washed my car and, as always, pulled the car over and got out to towel dry it. Evidently, that day the blowers had been maintenanced and a huge amount of the grease had fallen on the top of my car. I managed to get the grease off, which, being post-surgery, I wasn’t supposed to be climbing but I needed to get it off.

“So I get the phone number off the machine, called and left a message, thinking I’d never hear from them.

“Bright and early Saturday morning, I get a call with the explanation of probably why it happened and a very nice apology, along with a nice and very thoughtful compensation for the incident.

“So, thank you very much to the owners of the car wash, and I will continue to use your car wash.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll