Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 2, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Feb. 2, 2013

‘Follow this gentleman’s example’

Shirley Nix of Kokomo sends this Cheer for the kindnesses of strangers:

“On Monday, Jan. 31, I had a most extraordinary experience.

“I was in the checkout lane of a local grocery store, when the gentleman behind me asked the cashier if he could put his one item on my bill. Before she or I could answer, he added that he also wished to pay for my groceries, which he did.

“He stated he wanted to do something nice for someone. My bill was $95.79, so this was no small gesture.

“What a wonderful surprise from a stranger. I thanked the gentleman and told him I would pass this kind act on.

“This incident put a smile not only on my face, but the cashier’s face, the sacker’s face and the many faces of family members and friends whom I shared this story with.

“Wouldn’t Howard County be a much better place if more of us would do acts of kindness to strangers we meet? I plan to follow this gentleman’s example, and I encourage everyone reading this to do the same. Put a smile on someone’s face (and your heart will be smiling too).”

 

Thanks for story on Professor Miller

Myrtle Treber of Greentown sends this Cheer for a Kokomo Tribune reporter:

“I want to thank Lindsey Ziliak, your Kokomo Tribune writer, for the great front-page story on Jan. 21. She did a great job telling us about retired IU Kokomo professor Herbert Miller.

“What an interesting article for the Martin Luther King Day edition.

“My husband, the late Harry Treber, was an adjunct faculty member at IU Kokomo in the ’70s. He greatly admired Dr. Miller, and I still remember his kind words about him.”

 

Apology and compensation

Lorinda Jackson of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a local business:

“My Cheer goes out to the Wash & Go Car Wash on Goyer Road.

“On Jan. 11, I washed my car and, as always, pulled the car over and got out to towel dry it. Evidently, that day the blowers had been maintenanced and a huge amount of the grease had fallen on the top of my car. I managed to get the grease off, which, being post-surgery, I wasn’t supposed to be climbing but I needed to get it off.

“So I get the phone number off the machine, called and left a message, thinking I’d never hear from them.

“Bright and early Saturday morning, I get a call with the explanation of probably why it happened and a very nice apology, along with a nice and very thoughtful compensation for the incident.

“So, thank you very much to the owners of the car wash, and I will continue to use your car wash.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll