Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 2, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Feb. 2, 2013

‘Follow this gentleman’s example’

Shirley Nix of Kokomo sends this Cheer for the kindnesses of strangers:

“On Monday, Jan. 31, I had a most extraordinary experience.

“I was in the checkout lane of a local grocery store, when the gentleman behind me asked the cashier if he could put his one item on my bill. Before she or I could answer, he added that he also wished to pay for my groceries, which he did.

“He stated he wanted to do something nice for someone. My bill was $95.79, so this was no small gesture.

“What a wonderful surprise from a stranger. I thanked the gentleman and told him I would pass this kind act on.

“This incident put a smile not only on my face, but the cashier’s face, the sacker’s face and the many faces of family members and friends whom I shared this story with.

“Wouldn’t Howard County be a much better place if more of us would do acts of kindness to strangers we meet? I plan to follow this gentleman’s example, and I encourage everyone reading this to do the same. Put a smile on someone’s face (and your heart will be smiling too).”

 

Thanks for story on Professor Miller

Myrtle Treber of Greentown sends this Cheer for a Kokomo Tribune reporter:

“I want to thank Lindsey Ziliak, your Kokomo Tribune writer, for the great front-page story on Jan. 21. She did a great job telling us about retired IU Kokomo professor Herbert Miller.

“What an interesting article for the Martin Luther King Day edition.

“My husband, the late Harry Treber, was an adjunct faculty member at IU Kokomo in the ’70s. He greatly admired Dr. Miller, and I still remember his kind words about him.”

 

Apology and compensation

Lorinda Jackson of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a local business:

“My Cheer goes out to the Wash & Go Car Wash on Goyer Road.

“On Jan. 11, I washed my car and, as always, pulled the car over and got out to towel dry it. Evidently, that day the blowers had been maintenanced and a huge amount of the grease had fallen on the top of my car. I managed to get the grease off, which, being post-surgery, I wasn’t supposed to be climbing but I needed to get it off.

“So I get the phone number off the machine, called and left a message, thinking I’d never hear from them.

“Bright and early Saturday morning, I get a call with the explanation of probably why it happened and a very nice apology, along with a nice and very thoughtful compensation for the incident.

“So, thank you very much to the owners of the car wash, and I will continue to use your car wash.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll