Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 2, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Feb. 2, 2013

(Continued)

 

‘They too are exceptional people’

Sharon Grier, co-chairwoman of the recent Martin Luther King Jr. 2013 Celebration, sends this Cheer for all the “Unsung Heroes” the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority honored:

“Thanks to the Kokomo Tribune for recognizing Dr. Herbert Miller, whom we honored at our Martin Luther King Jr. 2013 Celebration as an ‘Unsung Hero’ of this community. He is truly an outstanding person and has lived as an exceptional example of a hero.

“However, we would have liked that the other unsung heroes honored at that occasion had been mentioned also. They were Bill Hall, Kokomo historian of African American history; Janie Young, first African American woman to serve on the Kokomo Common Council; Dietra Jackson, the first African American female hired as a police officer in Kokomo, and Claude Liggin, the first African American to be licensed as a real estate salesman in Howard County. They too are exceptional people of this community and are worthy of the title ‘Unsung Heroes’.”

 

Favors’ Dinner serves more than 2,000

Judy Favors of Kokomo sends this thank-you to the community:

“To all the people who helped me make this a record year for the Favors’ Free Christmas Dinner, I want to say I’m sorry for this thank-you taking so long.

“With God’s help and all your help, we served more than 2,000 meals.

“I usually write thank-you notes to a lot of people, but you know the person who brings me one pie or one dollar is just as important and needed as the ones bringing me 50 pies or $100. So to each and every person who helped in any way, be it driving, serving, giving or just saying a prayer for us, thank you. You gave me the most blessed joy and happiest year I have ever had in all my 73 years.

“Happy New Year to you all. I hope to see you all next year.

“One more thing: To all of you who have enjoyed my Christmas decorations for the last 30 years, I would like you to know that I have donated them to We Care Park. So if you still want to enjoy them, visit them there for years to come.”

                To enjoy home delivery

                of the Kokomo Tribune

                CLICK HERE »

                For a Kokomo Tribune

                eEdition Subscription

                CLICK HERE »

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll