Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 6, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Feb. 6, 2013

Rural electrification and wind farms

Imagine living in Tipton County during the early 1930s. If you lived in a rural area, there is a 90 percent chance you lived without electricity.

Thankfully, many landowners in our area and across rural America formed nonprofit cooperatives to bring electricity to the very dark and cold countryside, even before the Rural Electrification Act (REA) of 1936. In conjunction with the cooperatives, the REA provided much needed government financial assistance for rural electrification.

Shortly after enactment of the REA, areas like our community would have seen the beginnings of “pole settings.” Only 14 years after the REA was implemented, 90 percent of rural American homes had electricity. These poles did drastically change the landscape, but speaking for myself and probably most others, I love electricity. It allows us to live the lives we are accustomed to and quite often take for granted.

Envision your rural landscape free of poles. Now envision living in your home without electricity.

One thing often forgotten is how dangerous electricity can be. Poles are everywhere, creating driving hazards. Misuse or uneducated use of electricity can lead to serious injury or death. What about the existing high-voltage power lines that run through or near Sharpsville and Windfall that have been in place for decades? How many unfortunate health concerns and deaths can we eliminate per year by getting rid of poles and electricity?

Few would buy into this argument. What can be overlooked are the thousands, if not millions of lives saved every day because of electricity. If we eliminate electricity, then what do we do? It is safe to say that every one of us uses electricity extensively. Since we all use electricity, we should be responsible for finding better ways of generating it. The opportunity provided by the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm allows us all to participate in clean energy development and production.

Some would argue wind energy is intermittent — only providing a benefit when the wind is strong. However, it is interesting to learn that all forms of generated electricity are intermittent, whether it’s due to maintenance or an unforeseen failure.

Power plants simply do not produce electricity 24/7, 365 days a year. Yes, the turbines are large. You can make the same argument for cellphone towers, radio towers, high-voltage power lines, and even poles along the sides of our roads carrying electricity, telephone or cable services to our homes.

Yes, the turbines do make some noise. So do vehicles driving up and down the road, farmers running heavy machinery during planting and harvest, and your neighbor mowing his yard at 7 a.m. on a Saturday morning.

Everyone should ask themselves a question: Was the change to the Tipton County landscape almost 80 years ago an overall benefit to every resident in the county? The answer to this question is yes.

What about the Prairie Breeze project? All that we ask is for people to look at the facts and do research on your own. Look at the big picture, look at it from both sides and most importantly, look outside of our little box.

The late John F. Kennedy stated, “Change is the law of life. And those who only look to the past or present are certain to miss the future.” Eighty years ago we looked at the future. Can we do it again?

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. (Proverbs 15:1)”

Brady and Sam Peters, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll