Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 6, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Feb. 6, 2013

Rural electrification and wind farms

Imagine living in Tipton County during the early 1930s. If you lived in a rural area, there is a 90 percent chance you lived without electricity.

Thankfully, many landowners in our area and across rural America formed nonprofit cooperatives to bring electricity to the very dark and cold countryside, even before the Rural Electrification Act (REA) of 1936. In conjunction with the cooperatives, the REA provided much needed government financial assistance for rural electrification.

Shortly after enactment of the REA, areas like our community would have seen the beginnings of “pole settings.” Only 14 years after the REA was implemented, 90 percent of rural American homes had electricity. These poles did drastically change the landscape, but speaking for myself and probably most others, I love electricity. It allows us to live the lives we are accustomed to and quite often take for granted.

Envision your rural landscape free of poles. Now envision living in your home without electricity.

One thing often forgotten is how dangerous electricity can be. Poles are everywhere, creating driving hazards. Misuse or uneducated use of electricity can lead to serious injury or death. What about the existing high-voltage power lines that run through or near Sharpsville and Windfall that have been in place for decades? How many unfortunate health concerns and deaths can we eliminate per year by getting rid of poles and electricity?

Few would buy into this argument. What can be overlooked are the thousands, if not millions of lives saved every day because of electricity. If we eliminate electricity, then what do we do? It is safe to say that every one of us uses electricity extensively. Since we all use electricity, we should be responsible for finding better ways of generating it. The opportunity provided by the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm allows us all to participate in clean energy development and production.

Some would argue wind energy is intermittent — only providing a benefit when the wind is strong. However, it is interesting to learn that all forms of generated electricity are intermittent, whether it’s due to maintenance or an unforeseen failure.

Power plants simply do not produce electricity 24/7, 365 days a year. Yes, the turbines are large. You can make the same argument for cellphone towers, radio towers, high-voltage power lines, and even poles along the sides of our roads carrying electricity, telephone or cable services to our homes.

Yes, the turbines do make some noise. So do vehicles driving up and down the road, farmers running heavy machinery during planting and harvest, and your neighbor mowing his yard at 7 a.m. on a Saturday morning.

Everyone should ask themselves a question: Was the change to the Tipton County landscape almost 80 years ago an overall benefit to every resident in the county? The answer to this question is yes.

What about the Prairie Breeze project? All that we ask is for people to look at the facts and do research on your own. Look at the big picture, look at it from both sides and most importantly, look outside of our little box.

The late John F. Kennedy stated, “Change is the law of life. And those who only look to the past or present are certain to miss the future.” Eighty years ago we looked at the future. Can we do it again?

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. (Proverbs 15:1)”

Brady and Sam Peters, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Let's hope 7th Circuit sides with couples Let’s hope 7th Circuit sides with couplesIf you blinked over the past month, you probably missed some news about marriage equality in Indiana.First, a federal court ruled that the state’s ban on marriage for same-sex couples was unconstitutional, whi

    July 23, 2014

  • CECIL BOHANON: Spend down surplus? Been there, done that Back in 1998, the state of Indiana had more than $1.3 billion in surplus funds in its general account. This was about 57 days of state spending. The state had total surplus funds of more than $2 billion that was over 24 percent of its annual operatin

    July 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush? Clinton? Next, please

    Here comes a sentence I don’t usually find myself typing: I agree with Barbara Bush on something. Jan. 20, C-SPAN aired her installment in the series “First Ladies: Influence and Image,” which was filmed at Bush’s Houston home. “Do you think there is room for another Bush in The White House?” asked host Peter Slen. “This is a great American country, a great country, and if we can’t find more than two or three families to run for high office, that’s silly, because there are great governors and great eligible people to run,” said Bush. “I think Kennedys, Clintons, Bushes; there are just more families than that.”

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll