Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

February 6, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Feb. 6, 2013

Rural electrification and wind farms

Imagine living in Tipton County during the early 1930s. If you lived in a rural area, there is a 90 percent chance you lived without electricity.

Thankfully, many landowners in our area and across rural America formed nonprofit cooperatives to bring electricity to the very dark and cold countryside, even before the Rural Electrification Act (REA) of 1936. In conjunction with the cooperatives, the REA provided much needed government financial assistance for rural electrification.

Shortly after enactment of the REA, areas like our community would have seen the beginnings of “pole settings.” Only 14 years after the REA was implemented, 90 percent of rural American homes had electricity. These poles did drastically change the landscape, but speaking for myself and probably most others, I love electricity. It allows us to live the lives we are accustomed to and quite often take for granted.

Envision your rural landscape free of poles. Now envision living in your home without electricity.

One thing often forgotten is how dangerous electricity can be. Poles are everywhere, creating driving hazards. Misuse or uneducated use of electricity can lead to serious injury or death. What about the existing high-voltage power lines that run through or near Sharpsville and Windfall that have been in place for decades? How many unfortunate health concerns and deaths can we eliminate per year by getting rid of poles and electricity?

Few would buy into this argument. What can be overlooked are the thousands, if not millions of lives saved every day because of electricity. If we eliminate electricity, then what do we do? It is safe to say that every one of us uses electricity extensively. Since we all use electricity, we should be responsible for finding better ways of generating it. The opportunity provided by the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm allows us all to participate in clean energy development and production.

Some would argue wind energy is intermittent — only providing a benefit when the wind is strong. However, it is interesting to learn that all forms of generated electricity are intermittent, whether it’s due to maintenance or an unforeseen failure.

Power plants simply do not produce electricity 24/7, 365 days a year. Yes, the turbines are large. You can make the same argument for cellphone towers, radio towers, high-voltage power lines, and even poles along the sides of our roads carrying electricity, telephone or cable services to our homes.

Yes, the turbines do make some noise. So do vehicles driving up and down the road, farmers running heavy machinery during planting and harvest, and your neighbor mowing his yard at 7 a.m. on a Saturday morning.

Everyone should ask themselves a question: Was the change to the Tipton County landscape almost 80 years ago an overall benefit to every resident in the county? The answer to this question is yes.

What about the Prairie Breeze project? All that we ask is for people to look at the facts and do research on your own. Look at the big picture, look at it from both sides and most importantly, look outside of our little box.

The late John F. Kennedy stated, “Change is the law of life. And those who only look to the past or present are certain to miss the future.” Eighty years ago we looked at the future. Can we do it again?

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. (Proverbs 15:1)”

Brady and Sam Peters, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll