Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 8, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 8, 2013

Officials should share wind farm analysis

I have read a few letters to the editor from supporters of the industrial windmills in Tipton County, calling citizens to investigate the facts before arriving to conclusions on this controversial initiative in our county. I wholeheartedly agree.

Yet, it is precisely certain facts that are elusive in this debate. Not surprisingly, most letters in support of the 500-foot-tall industrial windmills have been written by those who have multiple signed leases with juwi Wind Energy, many of which were signed a few years ago but just were made public when juwi submitted its application recently.

As a concerned citizen of Tipton County, I question the objectivity of those who understandably are motivated by the opportunity to make approximately $10,000 to $15,000 annually per windmill on their property. It seems there is ample room for emotionalism from the supporters of the windmills, since they have much to gain monetarily by rashly moving forward with this project.

All those opposed to further expansion of the windmills with whom I have spoken are honest seekers of factual information on this issue. We would like to know that our elected officials in Tipton County have done their due diligence on such a controversial issue, and that they have carefully reviewed the growing list of evidence that substantiates the concerns of Tipton County citizens regarding the health and safety risks and the negative effects on property values from the industrial windmills.

This is a great opportunity for our elected and appointed county officials to serve with discernment and integrity and to protect the interests of all Tipton County citizens — not only the interests of a few farmers and landowners who have signed lucrative leases with juwi Wind Energy.

Scott Smith’s article titled “Juwi sees report denied to public” in Tuesday’s Kokomo Tribune illustrates well the secretive nature of the windmill development process. If the financial benefits to the county as a whole are so great, please release the document to the public for further analysis. I am a CPA by profession, with 10 years’ experience auditing governmental and not-for-profit organizations. I must say I have some professional skepticism as to why the H.J. Umbaugh financial analysis would not be released.

If it was a “document created to aid negotiations,” please allow Tipton County citizens the opportunity to review the information too so we can be a part of the decision process. As the supporters of the windmills recommend, we should know the facts.

Nathan D. Salsbery, Tipton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll