Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 8, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 8, 2013

Officials should share wind farm analysis

I have read a few letters to the editor from supporters of the industrial windmills in Tipton County, calling citizens to investigate the facts before arriving to conclusions on this controversial initiative in our county. I wholeheartedly agree.

Yet, it is precisely certain facts that are elusive in this debate. Not surprisingly, most letters in support of the 500-foot-tall industrial windmills have been written by those who have multiple signed leases with juwi Wind Energy, many of which were signed a few years ago but just were made public when juwi submitted its application recently.

As a concerned citizen of Tipton County, I question the objectivity of those who understandably are motivated by the opportunity to make approximately $10,000 to $15,000 annually per windmill on their property. It seems there is ample room for emotionalism from the supporters of the windmills, since they have much to gain monetarily by rashly moving forward with this project.

All those opposed to further expansion of the windmills with whom I have spoken are honest seekers of factual information on this issue. We would like to know that our elected officials in Tipton County have done their due diligence on such a controversial issue, and that they have carefully reviewed the growing list of evidence that substantiates the concerns of Tipton County citizens regarding the health and safety risks and the negative effects on property values from the industrial windmills.

This is a great opportunity for our elected and appointed county officials to serve with discernment and integrity and to protect the interests of all Tipton County citizens — not only the interests of a few farmers and landowners who have signed lucrative leases with juwi Wind Energy.

Scott Smith’s article titled “Juwi sees report denied to public” in Tuesday’s Kokomo Tribune illustrates well the secretive nature of the windmill development process. If the financial benefits to the county as a whole are so great, please release the document to the public for further analysis. I am a CPA by profession, with 10 years’ experience auditing governmental and not-for-profit organizations. I must say I have some professional skepticism as to why the H.J. Umbaugh financial analysis would not be released.

If it was a “document created to aid negotiations,” please allow Tipton County citizens the opportunity to review the information too so we can be a part of the decision process. As the supporters of the windmills recommend, we should know the facts.

Nathan D. Salsbery, Tipton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Let's hope 7th Circuit sides with couples Let’s hope 7th Circuit sides with couplesIf you blinked over the past month, you probably missed some news about marriage equality in Indiana.First, a federal court ruled that the state’s ban on marriage for same-sex couples was unconstitutional, whi

    July 23, 2014

  • CECIL BOHANON: Spend down surplus? Been there, done that Back in 1998, the state of Indiana had more than $1.3 billion in surplus funds in its general account. This was about 57 days of state spending. The state had total surplus funds of more than $2 billion that was over 24 percent of its annual operatin

    July 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush? Clinton? Next, please

    Here comes a sentence I don’t usually find myself typing: I agree with Barbara Bush on something. Jan. 20, C-SPAN aired her installment in the series “First Ladies: Influence and Image,” which was filmed at Bush’s Houston home. “Do you think there is room for another Bush in The White House?” asked host Peter Slen. “This is a great American country, a great country, and if we can’t find more than two or three families to run for high office, that’s silly, because there are great governors and great eligible people to run,” said Bush. “I think Kennedys, Clintons, Bushes; there are just more families than that.”

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll