Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 8, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 8, 2013

Officials should share wind farm analysis

I have read a few letters to the editor from supporters of the industrial windmills in Tipton County, calling citizens to investigate the facts before arriving to conclusions on this controversial initiative in our county. I wholeheartedly agree.

Yet, it is precisely certain facts that are elusive in this debate. Not surprisingly, most letters in support of the 500-foot-tall industrial windmills have been written by those who have multiple signed leases with juwi Wind Energy, many of which were signed a few years ago but just were made public when juwi submitted its application recently.

As a concerned citizen of Tipton County, I question the objectivity of those who understandably are motivated by the opportunity to make approximately $10,000 to $15,000 annually per windmill on their property. It seems there is ample room for emotionalism from the supporters of the windmills, since they have much to gain monetarily by rashly moving forward with this project.

All those opposed to further expansion of the windmills with whom I have spoken are honest seekers of factual information on this issue. We would like to know that our elected officials in Tipton County have done their due diligence on such a controversial issue, and that they have carefully reviewed the growing list of evidence that substantiates the concerns of Tipton County citizens regarding the health and safety risks and the negative effects on property values from the industrial windmills.

This is a great opportunity for our elected and appointed county officials to serve with discernment and integrity and to protect the interests of all Tipton County citizens — not only the interests of a few farmers and landowners who have signed lucrative leases with juwi Wind Energy.

Scott Smith’s article titled “Juwi sees report denied to public” in Tuesday’s Kokomo Tribune illustrates well the secretive nature of the windmill development process. If the financial benefits to the county as a whole are so great, please release the document to the public for further analysis. I am a CPA by profession, with 10 years’ experience auditing governmental and not-for-profit organizations. I must say I have some professional skepticism as to why the H.J. Umbaugh financial analysis would not be released.

If it was a “document created to aid negotiations,” please allow Tipton County citizens the opportunity to review the information too so we can be a part of the decision process. As the supporters of the windmills recommend, we should know the facts.

Nathan D. Salsbery, Tipton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll