Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 24, 2012

Day: Wyant family is the heart of Kokomo

Christmas is in the air, and it is time We Care Park once again lights up the whole north end so that our little ones can visit the park and take in some of the best sights ever seen.

At the helm is that old man who still thinks he is a teenager, and he wants to spread the cheer to all.

Mike Wyant and wife, Nancy, with the help of the family and many volunteers every year, give of their time to make that Christmas scene one to enjoy and love. But it just isn’t the Christmas season that work on this project is done.

When the holidays are over, the taking down of all those lights and trim is a job that takes them well into late winter. Storing things away takes time, too.

And a few months after Christmas is over and everything is taken down and put away, then it is time to start taking all that stored trim and lights and putting it back up again for Thanksgiving night when We Care starts opening back up.

The Wyants do this out of their hearts’ desire because, when they were young and things were hard to get, the family was always thankful for what they had. Mike was one of the mill workers who worked swing shifts. He was a supervisor whom everyone liked, and being able to make things easier for the youngsters of today plays long and hard in his heart.

He is one fine gentleman, as are his brothers and brothers-in-law. And his wife, who also came from a large family, is always there by his side, waiting to do whatever is needed to get this show on the road.

There is no profit in doing this, as all proceeds go right to We Care each year. And it seems like each year there’s a little more than last.

If you want to see some of Santa’s helpers, then visit We Care Park and see what good hearts can do.

Kokomo is full of good-hearted people who want the best for their children and other children, too. If you would sit down and talk with Mike, it is like talking to a brother or sister. He is a person who can make you proud to know him, and likewise with Nancy and all those Wyant families who give of themselves not only at Christmastime but also during the year when things look bleak.

They are good people who live in a good city, and they know how it was for kids back in their day. They use that knowledge to make sure that kids are not left out at Christmastime.

And there are many more people in this great city of Kokomo, Ind., who also give of themselves with donations and time to do what is needed to make Christmas a happy one for the children and those who do not have the means to have a dinner on the table at Christmastime.

Matter of fact, Kokomo is full of good people with hearts of gold, ready to help out in any way they can. Many remain in the shadows, ready to put forth an effort to do whatever is needed. Some we hear about, others we don’t.

But they are there, and this year will be no different because Kokomo cares. Soft-spoken heroes, waiting to give a child a gift and a warm, full belly.

Ray “Uncle Ray” Day is a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at uncleray@earthlink.net.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll