Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 24, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Nov. 24, 2012

‘Overwhelmed, comforted’ by community

Marianne (Gentry) Christie sends this Cheer:

“This is a heartfelt letter to the Kokomo community, Kokomo-Center School Corp., friends, family, students, co-workers, area school corporations and anyone who knew and loved Dick Christie:

“My entire family and I want to try to thank the many, many people who have touched our lives with flowers, food, donations, love, kind words, visiting and generally being so supportive in our recent, tragic loss of Dick.

“Kokomo-Center Schools were so generous to offer Dick’s home away from home, Memorial Gym, for the visitation and services. Kelly Miller of Ellers Mortuary said it was the only place in town to handle the crowd that came. He also said that when people were told upon arrival that there was over a two-hour wait, they just said, ‘that’s fine.’

“We as a family were overwhelmed and comforted by the long lines and wonderful outpouring of words and stories about Dick. The beautiful flowers and other memory items were such a wonderful touch.

“We will never be able to personally thank the people who came by the house and brought food, beverages, flowers and loving words. We were astounded by the donations of snacks and food during the visitation time and know that some of the local schools went together to provide those things.

“Teacher friends came to my house that evening and ran the sweeper, did laundry and made the beds! Such small but important blessings.

“This mass letter of thanks and love is the only way I could be able to reach out to probably more than 1,000 people who came to pay respects to Dick and the family. Friends of mine and the children came from Chicago, Evansville, Noblesville, Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Lafayette and Montgomery, Ala.

“Kokomo High School will continue to benefit from Dick Christie even at his passing due to the generous donations made in his memory and, more importantly, his honor. We as a family are so grateful and want you all to know how meaningful your support was and continues to be to us.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll