Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 24, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Nov. 24, 2012

‘Overwhelmed, comforted’ by community

Marianne (Gentry) Christie sends this Cheer:

“This is a heartfelt letter to the Kokomo community, Kokomo-Center School Corp., friends, family, students, co-workers, area school corporations and anyone who knew and loved Dick Christie:

“My entire family and I want to try to thank the many, many people who have touched our lives with flowers, food, donations, love, kind words, visiting and generally being so supportive in our recent, tragic loss of Dick.

“Kokomo-Center Schools were so generous to offer Dick’s home away from home, Memorial Gym, for the visitation and services. Kelly Miller of Ellers Mortuary said it was the only place in town to handle the crowd that came. He also said that when people were told upon arrival that there was over a two-hour wait, they just said, ‘that’s fine.’

“We as a family were overwhelmed and comforted by the long lines and wonderful outpouring of words and stories about Dick. The beautiful flowers and other memory items were such a wonderful touch.

“We will never be able to personally thank the people who came by the house and brought food, beverages, flowers and loving words. We were astounded by the donations of snacks and food during the visitation time and know that some of the local schools went together to provide those things.

“Teacher friends came to my house that evening and ran the sweeper, did laundry and made the beds! Such small but important blessings.

“This mass letter of thanks and love is the only way I could be able to reach out to probably more than 1,000 people who came to pay respects to Dick and the family. Friends of mine and the children came from Chicago, Evansville, Noblesville, Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Lafayette and Montgomery, Ala.

“Kokomo High School will continue to benefit from Dick Christie even at his passing due to the generous donations made in his memory and, more importantly, his honor. We as a family are so grateful and want you all to know how meaningful your support was and continues to be to us.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll