Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 24, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Nov. 24, 2012

‘Overwhelmed, comforted’ by community

Marianne (Gentry) Christie sends this Cheer:

“This is a heartfelt letter to the Kokomo community, Kokomo-Center School Corp., friends, family, students, co-workers, area school corporations and anyone who knew and loved Dick Christie:

“My entire family and I want to try to thank the many, many people who have touched our lives with flowers, food, donations, love, kind words, visiting and generally being so supportive in our recent, tragic loss of Dick.

“Kokomo-Center Schools were so generous to offer Dick’s home away from home, Memorial Gym, for the visitation and services. Kelly Miller of Ellers Mortuary said it was the only place in town to handle the crowd that came. He also said that when people were told upon arrival that there was over a two-hour wait, they just said, ‘that’s fine.’

“We as a family were overwhelmed and comforted by the long lines and wonderful outpouring of words and stories about Dick. The beautiful flowers and other memory items were such a wonderful touch.

“We will never be able to personally thank the people who came by the house and brought food, beverages, flowers and loving words. We were astounded by the donations of snacks and food during the visitation time and know that some of the local schools went together to provide those things.

“Teacher friends came to my house that evening and ran the sweeper, did laundry and made the beds! Such small but important blessings.

“This mass letter of thanks and love is the only way I could be able to reach out to probably more than 1,000 people who came to pay respects to Dick and the family. Friends of mine and the children came from Chicago, Evansville, Noblesville, Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Lafayette and Montgomery, Ala.

“Kokomo High School will continue to benefit from Dick Christie even at his passing due to the generous donations made in his memory and, more importantly, his honor. We as a family are so grateful and want you all to know how meaningful your support was and continues to be to us.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll