Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 28, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 28, 2012

Retired civil servants want income tax fix

I am a Civil Service Retirement System annuitant. Indiana income taxes were paid at the applicable tax rates in effect during my working years. I am taxed on the annuity received on an annual basis at the current Indiana income tax rate. This means I am paying taxes on the same money twice.

Some 774,651 retired workers on Social Security in Indiana are exempted from taxation. Another 15,900 railroad retirees are exempt from state income taxation by federal law. Civil service annuitants pay 3.4 percent state tax and, on average, 1.43 percent county tax.

Should this disparate tax policy be based upon the type of retirement system you participated in? Should your employer be a factor for state income tax policy? Should civil service retirees and survivors subsidize the tax breaks for other seniors receiving Social Security or railroad retirement benefits?

Social Security benefits have not been taxed by Indiana since February 1984. It is time for Indiana to tax all seniors equally and fairly. The Indiana General Assembly needs to take quick action to eliminate this tax bias.

Indiana’s tax code needs changed to provide fair treatment of civil service annuity retirement income. To achieve this, we must get a bill heard in and passed out of both House and Senate committees and to the floor of each chamber for a vote.

Nelson Jim Hayes, Upland

 

Statue’s surroundings are inappropriate

When the Indian Maiden statue was located at the corner of Sycamore Street and Apperson Way, I was disappointed. I thought it should have been placed in a more prominent location, where there was more traffic and seen by more people.

Driving by this location recently, I was appalled by its present surroundings. The gaudy building, lighting and cheap flags flying really diminish the beauty of this statue.

It is really sad that a beautiful piece of art is hardly noticeable. What a shame! I would hate to drive by the Indian Maiden sometime in the future and see her wearing a sandwich board, advertising the latest Big Gulp special.

Why couldn’t it be relocated to a more appropriate location such as the City Building or the courthouse square?

Here is a thought: Why not make it the centerpiece of a fountain to be installed at the City Building? What a nice statement that would make for such a beautiful piece of art!

On a different note, I would like to send a big cheer for the Kokomantis!

Nellie J. Hallam, Kokomo

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll