Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 28, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 28, 2012

Retired civil servants want income tax fix

I am a Civil Service Retirement System annuitant. Indiana income taxes were paid at the applicable tax rates in effect during my working years. I am taxed on the annuity received on an annual basis at the current Indiana income tax rate. This means I am paying taxes on the same money twice.

Some 774,651 retired workers on Social Security in Indiana are exempted from taxation. Another 15,900 railroad retirees are exempt from state income taxation by federal law. Civil service annuitants pay 3.4 percent state tax and, on average, 1.43 percent county tax.

Should this disparate tax policy be based upon the type of retirement system you participated in? Should your employer be a factor for state income tax policy? Should civil service retirees and survivors subsidize the tax breaks for other seniors receiving Social Security or railroad retirement benefits?

Social Security benefits have not been taxed by Indiana since February 1984. It is time for Indiana to tax all seniors equally and fairly. The Indiana General Assembly needs to take quick action to eliminate this tax bias.

Indiana’s tax code needs changed to provide fair treatment of civil service annuity retirement income. To achieve this, we must get a bill heard in and passed out of both House and Senate committees and to the floor of each chamber for a vote.

Nelson Jim Hayes, Upland

 

Statue’s surroundings are inappropriate

When the Indian Maiden statue was located at the corner of Sycamore Street and Apperson Way, I was disappointed. I thought it should have been placed in a more prominent location, where there was more traffic and seen by more people.

Driving by this location recently, I was appalled by its present surroundings. The gaudy building, lighting and cheap flags flying really diminish the beauty of this statue.

It is really sad that a beautiful piece of art is hardly noticeable. What a shame! I would hate to drive by the Indian Maiden sometime in the future and see her wearing a sandwich board, advertising the latest Big Gulp special.

Why couldn’t it be relocated to a more appropriate location such as the City Building or the courthouse square?

Here is a thought: Why not make it the centerpiece of a fountain to be installed at the City Building? What a nice statement that would make for such a beautiful piece of art!

On a different note, I would like to send a big cheer for the Kokomantis!

Nellie J. Hallam, Kokomo

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll