Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 1, 2012

Time to level playing field

A coalition of businesses called a news conference on Cyber Monday last week to ask Indiana lawmakers to stop giving an advantage to online retailers.

Legislators ought to respond favorably.

Representatives from Indiana Merchants for Tax Fairness Collection called for a quicker end to what they consider to be an unfair advantage enjoyed by online-only retailers that escape the state’s 7 percent sales tax.

On what turned out to be the biggest online shopping day ever, the coalition announced plans to push for legislation that would make Amazon and other online retailers start paying Indiana sales taxes by July 1, 2013. If passed, the bill would speed up a deal Amazon already had cut with Gov. Mitch Daniels to begin collecting sales taxes Jan. 1, 2014.

Amazon, which had long fought the online sales tax nationwide, already is charging state sales taxes on purchases made by residents in California, Pennsylvania and Texas, and it’ll start collecting sales taxes in Virginia and New Jersey next year.

Why not Indiana?

A report this year from the Indiana Fiscal Policy Institute estimated the state was losing as much as $125 million in annual sales tax revenue — money that would be going to schools and public safety. Some legislators think the number could be higher since online sales are growing. National retail experts estimate this year’s Cyber Monday sales at $1.5 billion — the highest ever.

Merchants argue that if they have to charge sales taxes, companies such as Amazon should be required to charge them, too.

Allowing online retailers to avoid doing that, they say, does nothing but discourage people from shopping in brick-and-mortar stores.

Amazon officials claim the lack of sales tax has little impact on online sales. They say sales are just as strong in states where Amazon does collect sales tax as they are in the states where it doesn’t.

Critics say that’s all the more reason to start collecting the tax sooner rather than later. If it’s not a disadvantage for Amazon to level the playing field, they ask, why wait?

Why indeed.

It’s time for Indiana to level the playing field for the mom-and-pop stores that are the heart and soul of communities across the state. Lawmakers should approve this bill.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll