Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 3, 2012

New penalties for marijuana?

THE ISSUE: Indiana State Police superintendent’s comment that, were it up to him, he would legalize marijuana.

OUR VIEW: Paul Whitesell meant prison isn’t the most tax-efficient way to discourage marijuana use.

The head of the Indiana State Police created a furor last week with comments to the State Budget Committee in favor of legalizing marijuana.

ISP Superintendent Paul Whitesell told committee members if he were in charge, he would legalize marijuana and put a tax on it. He said he believed marijuana was here to stay, and he cited votes in Colorado and Washington allowing adults to have small amounts of the substance as evidence of a national shift in opinion.

Many of Whitesell’s law enforcement colleagues were quick to react. Whitesell’s own department issued a statement saying Whitesell wasn’t speaking in his role as superintendent when he made the comment, and others in law enforcement said they disagreed with him on the issue.

Indiana’s governor-elect, Mike Pence, also went on record saying he opposed the idea of decriminalizing marijuana.

The idea is not without supporters, though. Sen. Brent Steele, chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee, wants to decriminalize the possession of small amounts of marijuana, turning possession of 10 grams or less into an infraction, similar to a speeding ticket.

A legislative commission, meanwhile, is recommending that the General Assembly overhaul the state’s drug laws to reduce penalties for low-level drug crimes. It also calls for reducing some felony-level marijuana crimes to misdemeanors, which would significantly reduce penalties.

One of the driving forces behind the proposed reforms is the cost of keeping low-level drug offenders in prison. Advocates say these offenders would be better served by community-based treatment programs.

The point people like Steele and Whitesell are trying to make is not that smoking marijuana is a good idea. It might even be a bad idea.

It’s definitely a bad idea to smoke marijuana and then get behind the steering wheel of a car.

But then, it’s also a bad idea to have a few beers after work and get behind the steering wheel of a car.

The two issues are really separate.

On the one hand, we have the question of whether to discourage marijuana use. On the other, we have the question of whether to invest tax dollars on arresting and jailing marijuana users.

The point folks like Steele and Whitesell are making is that doing the second is not the best way to accomplish the first.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll