Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 7, 2012

Editorial - Dec. 7, 2012: A reminder of etiquette

The issue: Flag display this Pearl Harbor Day.

Our view: If you wish to show your patriotism, remember to fly the flag at half-staff today, with dignity and respect.

 

Chapter 28 of the Disabled American Veterans here in Kokomo says Howard County has the largest per capita veteran population in all of Indiana.

There are approximately 8,000 veterans in our community, according to the DAV. They and the rest of America will remember the attack on Pearl Harbor 71 years ago today.

On Dec. 7, 1941, Japan attacked the Pacific Fleet. That Sunday morning, 2,402 Americans were killed – 68 of them civilians – and 1,282 were wounded. Most of the dead, 1,177, were aboard the USS Arizona.

Many will fly an American flag outside their homes and businesses as a tribute to those lost at Pearl Harbor and the service and sacrifices of family members who served during World War II.

Today, those flags should be flown at half-staff.

According to the Department of Defense, flying the flag should be done with these rules in minds.

• Raise and lower the flag by hand.

• Do not raise the flag while it is furled.

• Quickly hoist the flag to the top of a pole and lower it slowly with dignity.

• Place no objects on or over the flag.

• In a church, display the flag at the right of the congregation.

• Over a street, vertically suspend the flag with the blue field to the north on an east-west street or the east on a north-south street.

• When displayed with another flag, the American flag should always cross in front of the other flag and appear to be on its own right.

• Over caskets, the flag should have the union field over the left shoulder.

• When displayed either horizontally or vertically on a wall, the blue background should always be in the upper left-hand corner.

• Never use the flag for any advertising purpose. It should not be embroidered, printed or otherwise impressed on such articles as cushions, handkerchiefs, napkins, boxes or anything intended to be discarded after temporary use. Advertising signs should not be attached to the staff or halyard.

• The flag should never have placed on it, or attached to it, any mark, insignia, letter, word, number, figure or drawing of any kind.

If you wish to show your patriotism today, remember to fly the flag at half-staff, with dignity and respect.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll