Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 7, 2012

Editorial - Dec. 7, 2012: A reminder of etiquette

The issue: Flag display this Pearl Harbor Day.

Our view: If you wish to show your patriotism, remember to fly the flag at half-staff today, with dignity and respect.

 

Chapter 28 of the Disabled American Veterans here in Kokomo says Howard County has the largest per capita veteran population in all of Indiana.

There are approximately 8,000 veterans in our community, according to the DAV. They and the rest of America will remember the attack on Pearl Harbor 71 years ago today.

On Dec. 7, 1941, Japan attacked the Pacific Fleet. That Sunday morning, 2,402 Americans were killed – 68 of them civilians – and 1,282 were wounded. Most of the dead, 1,177, were aboard the USS Arizona.

Many will fly an American flag outside their homes and businesses as a tribute to those lost at Pearl Harbor and the service and sacrifices of family members who served during World War II.

Today, those flags should be flown at half-staff.

According to the Department of Defense, flying the flag should be done with these rules in minds.

• Raise and lower the flag by hand.

• Do not raise the flag while it is furled.

• Quickly hoist the flag to the top of a pole and lower it slowly with dignity.

• Place no objects on or over the flag.

• In a church, display the flag at the right of the congregation.

• Over a street, vertically suspend the flag with the blue field to the north on an east-west street or the east on a north-south street.

• When displayed with another flag, the American flag should always cross in front of the other flag and appear to be on its own right.

• Over caskets, the flag should have the union field over the left shoulder.

• When displayed either horizontally or vertically on a wall, the blue background should always be in the upper left-hand corner.

• Never use the flag for any advertising purpose. It should not be embroidered, printed or otherwise impressed on such articles as cushions, handkerchiefs, napkins, boxes or anything intended to be discarded after temporary use. Advertising signs should not be attached to the staff or halyard.

• The flag should never have placed on it, or attached to it, any mark, insignia, letter, word, number, figure or drawing of any kind.

If you wish to show your patriotism today, remember to fly the flag at half-staff, with dignity and respect.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll