Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 11, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 11, 2012

Federal government must go on a diet

My apologies to the obese, but I think this works.

When someone is overweight, the way to lose weight is to eat less. Our country is “overweight.” The nation has sat a smorgasbord of excess, and the only way we can solve our problems is to cut spending.

You don’t lose weight by eating more. Is a diet fun? Not often. Is it hard? Always!

Think about what is going on now. Like a reluctant dieter, our government says give me food (tax dollars), and I promise to diet next year. Trouble is, from past experience of Democratic Congresses, this hasn’t happened.

Oh, they claim we’ve cut debt, but all they did was AT BEST cut the rate.

Let’s say you are $10,000 in debt. You go to buy a car. You have your heart set on a new luxury SUV, but instead buy a used minivan.

You have saved dollars, but your debt went up. Your bottom line may be better, but is your debt reduced or just less than the SUV’s? Congress would say we cut spending.

For every dollar the government spends, it borrows 46 cents. Yes, for every dollar spent almost half is borrowed. Proverbs says a borrower is slave to the lender.

Nobody denies reports that Americans are getting fatter. But when we shift to public spending, we ignore the reality of where we are heading. The beast, our spending, is a monster, and it cannot keep being fed at that rate and by the people who are feeding it.

Half of Americans do not pay federal income taxes. The top 2 percent of all taxpayers pay something approaching 30 percent of all tax revenue.

Is that fair? Will the beast say that 40 percent is a fair rate for the top 2 percent, or is it just fair today and when the beast gets hungrier it will force more?

When will the beast be happy? Never!

Mike Moran, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll