Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 16, 2012

Prison reform needs support

THE ISSUE: Paying counties that send fewer low-level offenders to prison.

OUR VIEW: Such a measure would encourage Howard County to enroll more class D felons in its community corrections program.

Indiana lawmakers considered two visions of the state’s criminal justice system during their most recent legislative session.

One was represented by Martin County Prosecutor Mike Steiner, who sees prison as a last resort for low-level offenders.

“My personal belief,” he said, “is that going to the Department of Correction is like going to grad school for crime.”

The other vision was represented by Huntington County Superior Court Judge Jeff Heffelfinger.

“We send people to prison because they belong there,” he said. “It’s what our communities expect us to do.”

The numbers in the two counties reflect those divergent points of view. The odds of going to prison for a low-level offense are higher in Huntington County than anywhere else in the state. Those odds in Martin County are near zero.

This was not a fight, though, between tight-fisted conservatives and bleeding-heart liberals. In fact, fiscal conservatives such as Gov. Mitch Daniels was among those arguing prisons are the wrong place for many offenders.

Part of the reason: A recent rise in the state prison population has Indiana’s leaders concerned they soon will have to build more prisons. To avoid that, folks like Daniels were hoping to redirect many low-level offenders into alternative programs such as community corrections.

“It’s first about reducing recidivism and then about saving state dollars,” the governor said last year. “It’s in that order.”

The state already encourages local counties to develop community corrections programs and offers grants to keep the cost off of local taxpayers. The program serving Cass County has placed it among those counties sending the fewest low-level offenders to state prisons.

Despite reporting 87 percent of adults and juveniles as successfully completing its community corrections programs in 2008, Howard County sends an above-average number of low-level offenders to prison.

Under a measure considered in the last legislative session, counties that sent fewer class D felony offenders to state prisons would get more funding. Those that sent more would see their funding cut.

We encourage lawmakers to debate sentencing reform again next month.

Cass County will likely benefit from such a measure, which will also free up room in state prisons for the truly hard-core criminals who ought to be there. Howard County will be encouraged to enroll more class D felons in its community corrections program.

This is legislation area lawmakers should support.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll