Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 3, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 3, 2013

(Continued)

 

Licensing beauty pros ensures public safety

Chemical cuts, chemical burns, infectious diseases, lice, fungal infections and hepatitis B or C. These could happen to you if your barber, cosmetologist, esthetician or manicurist were an uneducated and unregulated quasi-professional.

At the request of Gov. Pence’s office, Sen. Randy Head, R-Logansport, introduced Senate Bill 520 in this 2013 legislative session. SB 520 was presented to the Senate committee on commerce, economic development and technology to create the eliminate, reduce, and streamline employee regulation (ERASER) committee. This committee would be required to “review and evaluate” initially 38 professional licenses. After passing out of committee and before reaching the full Senate, 25 of those professions were deleted — beauty culture not being one of them.

What this means, according to the bill’s latest printing, is the beauty culture industry could cease to exist — eliminating regulation or the need to have licenses. This will happen July 1, 2017, if the 2017 session of the General Assembly fails to take action.

SB 520 passed out of the Senate and is headed for the House commerce committee on government reduction, chaired by Rep. Steven Stemler.

As with other professionals wanting less regulation, the beauty culture professionals I have spoken to desire regulation. More than half the states require some form of continuing education. I believe the general public, who has put their trust in these professionals, would want the same.

Rep. Kevin Mahan, the House sponsor of the bill, says he thinks licensing of all industries must be examined, according to an Indianapolis Star article. Why then were 25 of the 38 professions deleted from the original bill?

I attended the Senate committee hearing on the original bill and witnessed a representative from the governor’s office say that Gov. Pence campaigned on “jobs, jobs, jobs.” And that “regulation is a barrier to employment.” I testified that jobs are very important, but the No. 1 priority should be “safety, safety, safety.”  

Additionally, there are in excess of 63,000 licensed beauty culture professionals in Indiana who brought in, according to the Indiana Handbook of Taxes, Revenues, and Appropriations, nearly $1 million dollars to the general fund in 2012. Funding appears not to be an issue here.  

Next time you go to get your hair cut, colored or styled, your new or existing nails painted, trimmed or polished, do you want someone who is trained, licensed and keeps up on the new trends and styles?

Call your senator and representative and voice your opposition to SB 520. If anything, ask that the reference to the beauty culture profession be deleted from Senate Bill 520.

Clee R. Oliver, Kokomo

 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll