Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 7, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 7, 2013

Uneducated voters threat to U.S.

Is the liberal media blocking the education of the American voter? The greatest threat to America today is the uneducated voter. What happened to Fast & Furious? What happened to Benghazi, which I believe was worse than Watergate because it involved the death of four Americans? Who came up with the sequester? Have you heard that for $500,000 the president is considering that you can have access to him every three months? Has anyone on any news channel other than FOX been made aware of the thousands of voter irregularities? Where is the rage over gas prices versus when Bush was president? Has anyone heard an outcry because of our drones being able to kill Americans under executive order? Has any media talked about how this administration is planning to become the largest permit and gun sellers in the history of the United States? If you are listening to NBC, MSNBC, CNN, Newsweek, New York Times, even AP, you are not getting the real news. These outlets are more like the old Russian propaganda mills. If it is bad for the administration, you won’t see it in print. If it is good they will print it.

What happened to investigative reporting? When will politicians learn they work for us, not us working for them? Have you heard that even before the sequester Obama had released illegal criminals in three states just to scare those opposing sequester?

Jim Richardson, Sharpsville

 

Weed of greed bears bitter fruit

We have lived in Prairie township for 47 years and love it here. We’ve older now, nearly 80 and living on Social Security and a meager pension. We’re both in poor health so we can’t travel anymore. We stay home mostly. When we do go out, we can’t venture far.

We have talked to people that have windmills near them, and they are having new health problems because of them and some are having trouble with their TV reception, radio, Internet, hearing aids, pacemakers, cell phones and so on.

I’m a hard diabetic and have to check my sugar eight times a day. If the windmills affect my glucose meter, I could die. I’m also dependent on an insulin pump to keep me alive. If the windmills affect my pump, I could die from too much or not enough insulin. I’ve seen the map where they plan to put five windmills around my home. They are numbered on the map. Everyone should see this map and look for their area to see how many they are going to get. If you don’t act now, you may not like the surprise that’s in store for you.

Why does my neighbor want to imprison us with these monsters and ruin the few years we have left and endanger our health?

What are these farmers are raising in their fields? Greed weeds. The weed of greed bears bitter fruit, and those who partake of it will suffer great hardship from other farmers who are stronger and greedier. Just remember what goes around, comes around and for every action, there is a reaction.

I must say to my neighbors in the surrounding counties: Wake up now and join the fight against the windmill farms because wherever you live. Believe me, you’re next.

Ron Arnett, Russiaville

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll