Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 7, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 7, 2013

Uneducated voters threat to U.S.

Is the liberal media blocking the education of the American voter? The greatest threat to America today is the uneducated voter. What happened to Fast & Furious? What happened to Benghazi, which I believe was worse than Watergate because it involved the death of four Americans? Who came up with the sequester? Have you heard that for $500,000 the president is considering that you can have access to him every three months? Has anyone on any news channel other than FOX been made aware of the thousands of voter irregularities? Where is the rage over gas prices versus when Bush was president? Has anyone heard an outcry because of our drones being able to kill Americans under executive order? Has any media talked about how this administration is planning to become the largest permit and gun sellers in the history of the United States? If you are listening to NBC, MSNBC, CNN, Newsweek, New York Times, even AP, you are not getting the real news. These outlets are more like the old Russian propaganda mills. If it is bad for the administration, you won’t see it in print. If it is good they will print it.

What happened to investigative reporting? When will politicians learn they work for us, not us working for them? Have you heard that even before the sequester Obama had released illegal criminals in three states just to scare those opposing sequester?

Jim Richardson, Sharpsville

 

Weed of greed bears bitter fruit

We have lived in Prairie township for 47 years and love it here. We’ve older now, nearly 80 and living on Social Security and a meager pension. We’re both in poor health so we can’t travel anymore. We stay home mostly. When we do go out, we can’t venture far.

We have talked to people that have windmills near them, and they are having new health problems because of them and some are having trouble with their TV reception, radio, Internet, hearing aids, pacemakers, cell phones and so on.

I’m a hard diabetic and have to check my sugar eight times a day. If the windmills affect my glucose meter, I could die. I’m also dependent on an insulin pump to keep me alive. If the windmills affect my pump, I could die from too much or not enough insulin. I’ve seen the map where they plan to put five windmills around my home. They are numbered on the map. Everyone should see this map and look for their area to see how many they are going to get. If you don’t act now, you may not like the surprise that’s in store for you.

Why does my neighbor want to imprison us with these monsters and ruin the few years we have left and endanger our health?

What are these farmers are raising in their fields? Greed weeds. The weed of greed bears bitter fruit, and those who partake of it will suffer great hardship from other farmers who are stronger and greedier. Just remember what goes around, comes around and for every action, there is a reaction.

I must say to my neighbors in the surrounding counties: Wake up now and join the fight against the windmill farms because wherever you live. Believe me, you’re next.

Ron Arnett, Russiaville

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll