Who is missing from the major winners again this year? Tiger Woods! While he has won five events, he has not won a major now for over five years. But don’t count him out. He seems to be getting more consistent with his new swing.
Woods also now has 79 wins only three behind Sam Snead’s record. Look for Woods to break that next year with ease. Who knows — he could still do it this year. Woods is 10 years younger than Snead was when Snead won his 79th title. You have to think that he has his targets set for at least 100 wins.
This weekend is the Solheim Cup. Don’t miss this patriotic event with excellent competition. It’s great to see the emotion of the women players as they strive to win for their country and team.
Two weeks ago, Buy.com tour player Blayne Barber made an expensive mistake. He accidentally signed for a birdie on one of his holes and a score of 65 when in fact he parred the hole for a round of 66. That would have left him in second place after two rounds and on the way to a big paycheck. Instead, he was disqualified. Worse yet, it could cost him a chance to qualify for the PGA Tour next year. Making this story more interesting is that this is not the first time for Barber. He had to disqualify himself between the first and second stages of tour school last fall for signing an incorrect card after he realized that he should have taken a two-stroke penalty for an infraction for which he counted only a single stroke.
With all the assistants and scorers at these professional events, it is hard to understand how anyone could be disqualified for a scoring error. I could understand it more for not understanding rules infractions — although you certainly could argue that the professionals should know the rules better. So the best suggestion I have for Barber is to add someone who can count to his entourage. That would pay for itself.