Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Sports

October 4, 2013

Week 7 football previews

Kats host Berries; Panthers visit Comets.

(Continued)

“My biggest concern coming into this game ... we have given up 75 yards of passing in six games. I don’t look at that as a positive. We just haven’t played people who could throw the ball very well. To do that through six weeks, then have to [play Heights], we have no idea how our secondary is going to react. I think we have good kids back there and I think they’ve played well, but they haven’t been tested.”

Heights beat Northwestern 57-21 last year. Hendryx is 2-4 against the Huskies.

Logansport (2-4, 2-2 NCC) at Kokomo (2-4, 1-2 NCC)

The Kats welcome the Berries to Walter Cross Field for senior night, a fact that is sure to only intensify the rivalry matchup.

“One thing I know for sure against Logan is they’re going to come and play as physical as anyone we’ve played,” Colby said. “No matter who the coach has been since I’ve been here, Logansport is one of the most physical, hard-hitting games we play. It’s how we respond to that physicality that’s going to go a long way to determining the outcome of the game.”

Logansport is led by junior quarterback Ryan Shrock, who has rushed for 308 yards and nine TDs this season while completing 12 of 46 passes for 121 yards, two TDs and four interceptions.

“They run a tough offense to defend in the option,” Colby said. “You better have your responsibilities down. They don’t run a ton of plays, maybe six to eight, but they have 20 formations that they run those plays out of. So, we have to know our job and responsibility on every formation. We need to read our keys, and we had a good week with that. Hopefully we can slow their quarterback down. He’s not big — he wrestled 132 [pounds] last year, but is very fast and runs the option well.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Sports
  • Greatest Save brings Major Leaguers to Kokomo Community First Bank Executive Vice President Bob Hickman saw first hand the great benefits and excitement the Greatest Save program brought to the community of Evansville the last two years. He watched as Major League Baseball legends like Rollie Fi

    August 20, 2014

  • Age no opponent for some of NFL's veteran stars NEW YORK (AP) — There's something stunning happening on Michael Vick's head. You can't see them from far away, but up close, tiny gray hairs are starting to emerge — color-sapped reminders that the New York Jets quarterback is no longer the speedy y

    August 20, 2014

  • SPL - KT082014 - Western football preview - pic FOOTBALL: Western preview Western's football team ran the ball on 575 of its 634 offensive plays last season. Three players combined to account for 424 of the rushing attempts. Expect a much different look from the Panthers under new coach Ronnie Jankovich.

    August 20, 2014 2 Photos

  • SPL - KT082014 - Cass football preview - mug FOOTBALL: Cass preview Lewis Cass may lack experience entering this season, but not moxie. The Kings return just a handful of starters from last year’s team that finished 5-5, one of the few teams in recent program history that did not win more games than it lost.

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SPL - KT082014 - County boys XC preview - pic BOYS CROSS COUNTRY: Howard County preview Western's boys cross country team is ready to chase after more championship hardware. The Panthers are four-time defending Mid-Indiana Conference champions and two-time defending Logansport Sectional winners.

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Prep roundup for Wednesday, Aug. 20 Taylor's boys soccer team got its season off to a flying start with a 5-1 victory over Western on Tuesday night, highlighted by a hat trick from Hunter Stephens. It marked the first time the Titans had beaten the Panthers in Mike Shane's tenure as coach.

    August 20, 2014

  • Sports briefs for Wednesday, Aug. 20 Visiting Judson University swept IU Kokomo 25-22, 25-22, 25-23 in NAIA volleyball action Tuesday night, spoiling the Cougars' home and season opener. Lindi Thomas led IUK with 16 kills on a .351 hitting percentage. She also had 10 digs.

    August 20, 2014

  • SPL - KT082014 - Ken de la Bastide column - column sig DE LA BASTIDE: Chase field is taking shape Lost in the media furor surrounding Tony Stewart was the fact that A.J. Almendinger recently qualified for the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship. Almendinger, driving for a single-car team, became the 12th different driver to score a win this season, qualifying the team for the championship hunt.

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • TV Redskins Name Football [Duplicate] Simms, Dungy likely not to use 'Redskins' on TV NEW YORK (AP) — Two influential NFL voices — including CBS lead analyst Phil Simms, who will handle Washington's Week 4 game — said Monday they likely won't use the term "Redskins" when discussing the franchise. "My very first thought is it will be

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • SPT - KT081914 Northwestern football preview - pic FOOTBALL: Northwestern preview Northwestern's football program graduated a large senior class of more than 20 players from a 7-4 squad, leaving a fresh team that will play on different strengths. Coach John Hendryx said the Purple Tigers are a "pretty athletic group, and they're great kids. They're very, very coachable, they want to learn."

    August 19, 2014 2 Photos