In years past the annual Independence Day show at the Kokomo Speedway has failed to disappoint those in attendance, both on the track and with the fireworks in the sky.

Wednesday night at the local track the action was stock full in both places as Kokomo’s Kory Glassburn ran a flawless race in the 20-lap Thunder Car feature event to take the Dave Crow Classic to highlight the night.

Starting inside the third row for the feature, Glassburn quickly worked his way to the front, taking the lead on the eighth lap and never trailing the rest of the event despite a buzzsaw behind his family-owned No. 86JR.

When the dust finally settled, Jesse Simmons held off Eric Hunter to take second with R.J. Akers and Clint Hall completing the top five in the most coveted stock car event each season at the track.

Curt Spaulding put on a late-race charge to score the UMP Modified feature, taking advantage of a late caution to secure his first career win at the track.

In the early going Derek Losh was untouchable as he raced out to a huge advantage with the laps dwindling down.

With a handful of laps remaining Ian Keller brought out the caution after spinning in turn one. On the restart, Spaulding slipped by Losh with a nifty move around the top side exiting turn four. The pair then dueled to the checkered flag with Losh spinning exiting turn four in a last-lap bid to claim the win.

Dylan Woodling settled for second and Mike McKinney was third. Todd Sherman and Jamie Lomax were fourth and fifth, respectively. Logansport drivers Bradley and Garrett Jameson each made the feature event with Bradley picking up a heat win and finishing eighth in the feature. Garrett got collected in Keller’s spin and was 19th.

Although the Kokomo Sprint Car Series car count was low due to most of the USAC teams heading West to the Knoxville Raceway this weekend, there were some heavy hitters and they put on quite a show.

As it was, Justin Grant bolted to the early lead in his TOPP Motorsports/NOS Energy Drink No. 4 and appeared poised to waltz away with yet another win at what he considers his home track. Former track champion Scotty Weir had his own ideas, however as the Marion driver got past Grant just past the midway point of the 25-lap finale in his Peterson Racing No. 4P.

The front three of Weir, Grant and Clinton Boyles were pretty much in their own zip code as they whittled through lapped traffic. With just three laps remaining, Grant took advantage of Weir getting bottled up by a backmarker and went wheel-to-wheel with him through turns three and four.

After reclaiming the top spot, the California native who now resides in Avon never relinquished the lead in stretching out his points lead in the battle for the track championship.

Weir was second, Boyles third and Lincoln’s Dave Darland fourth while piloting Corey Smith’s CSM No. 66S. Travis Hery rounded out the top five.

James Headley picked up where he left off Friday night at Gas City as he rolled to a convincing win in the Hornet feature aboard his family-owned No. 1.

Chasing him to the checkered flag was Chris Hillman while Kokomo’s Josh Gamblin took third. Ryan Piker was fourth and Logan Easterday fifth.

The track returns to action July 20 with the third leg of the Indiana Sprint Week featuring the USAC Amsoil National Sprint Car Series.

React to this story: